Winchester Exhibition 2010

by inoils

I am flying over to the UK this week to spend 4 days in and around Winchester Collage – watching/studying cricket matches, music concerts and other aspects of daily life of the historic school – in preparation for an exhibition that I shall be holding in the school’s Angelus Gallery next March (2010).

I grew up within the College and spent 5 very enjoyable years in Beloes in the mid 1970s.

Many artists have painted the historic architecture and very attractive grounds of the College but what I am hoping to do through my paintings is to bring out the underlying “spirit” of Winchester.

Winchester Football painting

This is an oil painting that I have just completed of a game of Winchester Football, a mix of rugby and football played at Winchester College where there are nets and ropes down each side and the rules say that you must always kick it as hard as you can!

Our French friends have been fascinated by this painting and are eagerly awaiting the chance to put together a team that includes Frédéric Michalak and Thierry Henri as “Kicks”!

I have posted a couple of other paintings of the College on my web site at http://www.inoils.com – click on the “Winchester 2010” tab on the left hand side.

